Pinterest Challenge: DIY Wall Art

Update: Check out another version I did of the same diy here.

*************

Last week Sherry from Young House Love announced a Pinterest Challenge!  The only rule was that you needed to take something you pinned and give it your own spin.  It sounded like fun to me so I thought I’d join in!

*************

    

These are the images from my Pinterest board that I used for my inspiration! (Click on the each image to go to the pin.)

And this is the finished product!

To create your own wall art…

Measure where you want your white stripes to be positioned on a canvas.

Using making or painters tape, mask out your design (I’m did a chevron design).  Because my tape was an inch thick, I cut it in half using a ruler and craft knife. I know that you can buy half-inch masking tape, but I just made do with what I had on hand!

Next I spray painted the canvas with gold spray paint so that I would have a gold background to my painting.

Using acrylic paints, I then layered colour onto the canvas.  Try different brushes and experiment with how you move the paint on the canvas, have fun!

When dry, peel the tape back to reveal your design!

And because everyone loves a before and after,

The shelf before was a bit to cluttered, the update is a nice change and freshens the shelf up! (The pretty picture in the white frame is another DIY art I made by printing an image on printer fabric, you can find the tutorial here.)

**************

I’d love to connect with you! Find me on Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, or Facebook.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

117 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge: DIY Wall Art

  1. love this! i’ve been wanting to recreate your first inspiration image as well – after seeing how wells yours turned out i just might have to make it happen now.

  2. I saw your link on YHL and had to stop by!

    Oh. My. Goodness. The second I saw this art on Pinterest, I pinned it and bookmarked the site. I showed my husband because the prints are actually really affordable (which is hard to find with art I like), but he said he didn’t like the colors. Now you have inspired me to try to sway him to let me recreate it with different colors!

    Yours turned out beautiful! I am seriously drooling on my keyboard, I love it that much. Haha!

    I joined up for the challenge as well. You can check out my post if you would like here: http://www.redheadinruffledflats.com/2011/11/pinterest-challenge-changing-shades.html

  3. I’ve got the original pinned, but had put it in the ‘too hard basket’. You’ve made it look so easy though! I’m definitely going to give it a go now. Thanks for the DIY :)

  4. Pingback: Mega DIY Projects: Fall Pinterest Challenge Round-Up « Sheila Zeller Interiors

  5. Pingback: Friday Faves 11.4 | house of earnest

  6. Pingback: Design Inspiration: Chevron « The Embellished Nest

  7. Pingback: Inspired by...Fine Art

  8. Pingback: Empty Frames and Wall Decals « The Embellished Nest

  9. Pingback: Painter’s Tape Inspiration « HFoP

  10. Pingback: Favorite Projects of 2011 « The Embellished Nest

  11. Pingback: PrintPaperCloth 3 DIY art projects for the weekend - PrintPaperCloth

  12. I would LOVE an invite to Pinterest! Just heard about it today and have already seen some amazing things including your oh so cool chevron art!! Great job!!

  13. Completely stumbled upon your blog today and am in love with this project! Great job and great use of color! Could you possibly please re-post your initial inspiration link for the very top photo? i wanted to try to get a closer look…
    And oh, if it isn’t too much trouble, may I twist your arm for a Pinterest invite? :)

    Thanks so much!
    Joan

  14. Pingback: Beauty in Patterns « the color of sunshine

  15. Pingback: Pinterest art challenge! | wherelovemeetslife

  16. Pingback: Just KaliRae » Blog Archive » Up for the Challenge: DIY Wall Art

  17. Pingback: That’s Pinteresting! 5 DIY Finds | Your Design Partner- Blog

  18. Pingback: Blog da Jay » Inspiração: Tutoriais que podem renovar sua casa!

  19. This is so cute ! I love chevrons.
    It seems easy to do but measuring and me makes 10, so the masking tape phase is kinda of a challenge for me :( (placing the verical strips, ok, then ? argh).
    thanks for the tutorial !

  20. Pingback: DIY Home Edition « spoonfashion

  21. Reblogged this on Karissa Ernst >>> and commented:
    Totally going to do this tonight. I love the neutral colors and almost water marked transition between the shades of pink, purple, cream and orange. I’ll replace the orange with yellow though to match my room a bit more.

  22. Pingback: The Weekend Changes | Things Change

  23. Pingback: 6 Charming DIY’s For Any Girl’s Bedroom! | Smart Homewares

  24. Pingback: Pinterest Paintings-Completed « Cerulean Starshine

  25. Pingback: 17 More DIY wall Art Ideas

  26. Pingback: DIY wall art - Four Generations One Roof

  27. Pingback: DIY Wall Art: Thrifty Thursday #11

  28. Pingback: 10 Easy DIY Wall Art Ideas | You Put it Up

  29. Pingback: 10 Creative, Affordable & Fun DIY Ideas for Wall Art | HomeandEventStyling.com

  30. Pingback: Daily DIYs #1 | Where the sidewalk ends...

  31. Pingback: Herringbone DIY | a peak

  32. Pingback: 5 ideias para decoração de paredes | I Made it Happen

  33. Pingback: File Cabinet | Serendipity

  34. Pingback: Gallerinas | Sweet Lemon Magazine

  35. Pingback: Watercolor Chevron Wall Art DIY Tutorial | Hip Home Making

  36. Pingback: 15 Creative DIY Wall Art Ideas to Decorate Your Space | World inside pictures

  37. Pingback: Conviértete en artista y decora tu casa |

  38. Pingback: Wall Art | UF Fashion Files

  39. Pingback: DIY Art for Beginners | Expressions of an Artist

  40. Pingback: Starting is always hardest part | seeking hedonia

  41. Pingback: The Lady Thing Lovely DIY Wall Art Ideas - The Lady Thing

  42. Love this, will definitely be trying it tomorrow as a last craft idea before school starts. Although I believe the pattern is called herringbone and not chevron.

  43. Pingback: 100 Beautiful DIY Wall Art Ideas

  44. Pingback: 130 DIY wall decor | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  45. Pingback: Simple DIY | hayleyjuniperstyling

  46. Pingback: hayleyjuniperstyling

  47. Pingback: From Lovers with Love » Check Out These Cool DIY Wall Decor Ideas

  48. Pingback: 15 DIY Paintings for Non Artists - Just Paint It Blog

  49. Pingback: Dress Your Walls — 30 Artwork DIYs under $30 ~ Krrb Blog

  50. Pingback: 20 DIY Geometric Wall Art Decorations for a Vivid Modern Touch | Home Design Lover

  51. Pingback: DIY | whitneyyrs

  52. Love your work, Glad I stumbled onto this tonight, never have tried it but it sure is beautiful an gives me inspiration to try my own, I would love a Pinterest Invite Please!
    Thank you!

  53. Pingback: 4 DIY Wall Decor Ideas | Live Love in the Home

  54. Pingback: 15 idéias de DIY fáceis (estilo Tumblr) | Colocando SaltoColocando Salto

  55. Pingback: 18 Easy DIY Art Projects You Can Make With Watercolors | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips

Your sweet comments make my day a whole lot sunnier! Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

